#14 Cambodia – back on the home front

So as most of you know, I am now back from Cambodia and it was amazing!!

I apologise for keeping you all in suspense since my return… I have been so busy what with house-moving in Falmouth, weddings in Rome and recovering in Surrey, that my blog went somewhat neglected. I am back now though, and ready to get editing!!

Editing however, comes as quite a daunting task… as the hours of footage need to be trawled through to produce an Al Jazeera Witness style 20 minute documentary, that is both innovative in design and compelling to watch. I CAN do this 🙂

I am not going to reveal any of my footage just yet, but here are a few of my favourite images from the 3 weeks away… let me know what you think.

Also just a quick note to say that before I left Cambodia I made the compulsary visit to the Killing Fields and S21 (or Tuol Sleng, Pol Pot’s secret prison) in Phnom Penh. If you’ve never been (or like me, hadnt really heard of them before my research into Cambodia began) then they are well worth a visit. It seems slightly wrong that something so horrific has become one of Cambodia’s biggest tourist ‘attractions’, but after visiting you can see why. I am not going to go into great details of my experience here or try to explain it to you, I will simply leave you with the image of the killing tree; which was used to beat young children to death in the time of the Khmer Rouge…

Leave a Reply

