One World Media – LANDMINES

So I’ve been through quite a few ideas for my final project. My coursemates can vouch for the fact that I’m indecisive and plan before I can think. But I have finally come to a decision and I am so excited to go and film it….

  • Initial idea= The Falklands – cost of flights too expensive (£2500) and general theme of the film would have been too political and that is not my key area of interest.
  • Second idea= APOPO /landmines – giant sniffer rats used to detect landmines in Mozambique, but they did not have the time or resources to accomodate me.
  • Third idea= female landmine clearance teams in Mozambique – I was told by several good sources including Stuart Hughes of the BBC that I should have a really strong peg/ reason for choosing to focus on Mozambique… for example: the worst affected by landmines/ the highest mortality rate/ the newest laid landmines. I could not find any of these for Mozambique, so….
  • FINAL IDEA= The Female Bomb Disposal Teams of Cambodia – Cambodia is one of the countries most badly affected by landmines in the world. I aim to follow around one of MAG‘s all-female landmine clearance teams, exploring their roles and how they have been affected by landmines. I will also talk to several charities (contacts already established) including Veterans International Cambodia and Cambodian Handicraft Association (CHA) who work closely with victims of landmines.

I have sent this documentary proposal off to the One World Media student funding awards and await their decision at the end of April… fingers crossed!!

One thought on “One World Media – LANDMINES

Leave a Reply

